Solo Wargamer

April 30, 2009

Welcome to Solo Wargamer

Filed under: News — Jay @ 12:11 pm

tudor01

Welcome to my solo wargames blog. As well as being a personal journal of my solo battles and campaigns, I’m aiming to gradually build this into a modest online resource for other solo wargamers. Solo play has been neglected in recent years, but for a number of reasons – some a matter of choice, others a matter of necessity – it remains for many people a viable and fun alternative to wargames clubs and tournaments. There is a thriving Yahoo discussion group which I can warmly recommend if you haven’t already found it – click here to check it out. As for this blog, I would welcome any feedback you’d care to post, and any ideas you’d care to contribute.

So, why solo wargaming? Up until now my wargaming career has been one of dipping a toe gingerly into the water, checking out local clubs and the friendlier sorts of tournament. But I don’t find that either is really quite to my taste, nor do they satisfy my need for ongoing wargames or quick one-off battles that can be fought whenever I feel the urge for a game. Being in the happy position of having the space for a permanent games table means that I don’t have to worry about setting up and clearing away games, and that I can leave battles in situ and return to them either for a few short minutes or for longer periods during my spare time. That has made it a lot easier to opt for the choice of focusing primarily on solo gaming.

Solo wargaming appeals to me because of this capacity for playing at my own pace just when it suits me. And it enables me to follow up ideas, investigate the periods of my choice, and use my own favourite rulesets without having to worry about whether they fit in with someone else’s preferences.

At the moment my tendency is to play small scale battles using the DBA and Hordes Of The Things rulesets, and the blog is initially likely to reflect something of a bias in that direction. On the other hand as my ‘career’ as a solo wargamer develops I hope to expand the scale of my operations…

Happy Gaming!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

